Demonic Resurrection is a blackened death metal band from Mumbai, India formed in the year 2000. Demonic Resurrection’s current line-up consists of Sahil “The Demonstealer” Makhija on vocals and rhythm guitars, Daniel Rego on lead guitars, Ashwin Shriyan on bass, Virendra “Viru” Kaith on drums and Mephisto on keyboards.

Originally all albums were released under Demonstealer Records till they were signed by Candlelight Records in April 2010 for worldwide distribution.

Demonstealer (2000-2002)

Since its inception in March 2000 Demonic Resurrection has been raising eyebrows. Starting out as bunch of 17-year-olds looking to give India a taste of extreme metal, then a nearly untouched genre, the band, spearheaded by Sahil ‘The Demonstealer’ Makhija, released their first album Demonstealer within nine months of formation. It was an amateurish first attempt but a bold step in a scene dominated by tribute and cover bands that got Demonic Resurrection noticed. As with most bands, teething problems meant that members came and went, and the first stable lineup came together only in 2001 with The Demonstealer on vocals and guitars, Count Varathora on bass, Nikita Shah on vocals and keyboards and Yash Pathak on the drums. The band re-recorded Demonstealer with the current lineup. Though a marked improvement on the original recording, the band was still experimenting with its sound and recording, something that comes across clearly on the album. It was still amateurish but it received a fair bit of acclaim and Brazilian record label Vampiria Records released a tape version of the album in the local market. Copies of this album are collectors’ items today.

A Darkness Descends (2002-2007)

However in 2002, the group disbanded, leaving the Demonstealer to build it back up from scratch. Reformed in 2003 with a new-lineup, Demonic Resurrection was now Husain Bandukwala (bass), Mephisto (keyboards), JP (drums) and the Demonstealer (vocals, guitars). The band spent the next two years writing new material that reflected the change in lineup and each band member brought a different flavour to the music. Gone was the gothic/black/death metal sound of the band to now be replaced by a meld of equal parts melody and brutal aggression, the sound of their second album A Darkness Descends. The album was released in October 2005 to critical acclaim from all over the world and till today is a benchmark release in the history of Indian metal. The album also gave birth to Demonstealer Records, an independent extreme metal record label launched by the Demonstealer, which would go on to release albums of all the top Indian metal bands. Looking to add yet more depth and dimension to their sound, the band enlisted lead guitarist Pradeep Pande in 2006 but the same year also saw the exit of drummer JP due to musical differences. This however didn’t stop the band from getting into the studio and recording their EP and third studio effort ‘Beyond The Darkness’, which featured on a split CD titled Rise Of The Eastern Blood along with bands Dusk from Pakistan and Severe Dementia from Bangladesh. Since the band had no drummer, Demonstealer took up the drum duties for the EP. Beyond the Darkness saw a slightly more experimental side of the band, adding ambience and spacey, ethereal textures to their sound. And while some fans were skeptical of the musical direction the band had taken, critics applauded it, heaping praise on the band. That Indian metal and Demonic Resurrection in particular were on their way to global recognition became amply clear when filmmaker Sam Dunn (Metal: A Headbanger’s Journey, Iron Maiden: Flight 666) featured the band in his landmark documentary Global Metal.Demonic Resurrection was also the only Indian band to make it to the soundtrack of Global Metal along with the likes of Lamb of God, Sepultura and In Flames.

Beyond The Darkness (2007-2009)

The band meanwhile continued to look for a new drummer until August 2007 when Virendra ‘Viru’ Kaith joined as a permanent member. Over the next year or so the band continued touring and writing new material, till Pradeep quit in 2008 and was replaced by guitar prodigy Daniel Rego, who was just 18 years old. 2009 saw the band widen the scope of their tours across India, going places that no Indian metal band had gone before and featuring as the support acts for Opeth in February 2009 and for Amon Amarth and Textures in December 2009.

The Return To Darkness (2009-2014)

The band hit the studio in August 2009 to record their third full-length album and what was to be the final chapter in the Darkness trilogy: The Return to Darkness. Roping in renowned artist Michael ‘Xaay’ Lorac (Nile, Karl Sanders, Behemoth, Vader) to design the artwork for the album, the band also released their first video for ‘The Unrelenting Surge of Vengeance’ that received (and continues to receive) airplay from mainstream music channels like VH1. The album was officially released in January 2010 followed by a nationwide tour – The Resurrection Festival. The band capped 10 successful years of existence with their first international show at the prestigious Inferno Metal Festival in Norway in April 2010 and played at the Brutal Assault festival in the Czech Republic in August 2010.

The Demon King (2014-present)

On May 22, 2014 Demonic Resurrection revealed the artwork and track list for their 4th full-length album titled ‘The Demon King‘. The artwork was, once again, done by Michal ‘Xaay’ Loranc who had done the the bands previous album cover for The Return to Darkness

Commented, Demonstealer “Working with Michal on the cover was an absolute pleasure, that man is a genius. We had an idea to showcase an epic battle between God and The Demon King and Michal just brought that out perfectly in the cover artwork.”

The album will be released on the 13 July in India, 14 July in Europe and 15 July in the USA by Candlelight Records and distributed in India by Universal Music.

According to, ‘Demon King’ is a story that is told via the tracks, each one being a separate chapter in the album. Sahil ‘Demonstealer’ Makhija says the new album is different from the band’s previous ones and has a lot to offer to all kinds of metalheads, from smooth and softer tracks like ‘Facing the Faceless’ to extremely aggressive tracks like ‘Death, Desolation and Despair’.

The theme of the album will be similar to the ‘Darkness’ trilogy although it is a new and different story with the songs flowing like the chapters in a novel. The story is about the resurrection of the Demon King who has awakened on the Earth for the destruction of humankind, the apocalypse. According to the band, it sounds like the ‘Book of Revelation’ in harsher words; it also has clear references from the holy book like “Oh lord above, Deliver us all from evil”. Also, the story was inspired by Hindu mythology, in one song where it says, “Sleeping demons (Kumbhakaran from Ramayan) awaken softly”. Recorded in the year 2013, Daniel Rego is the guitarist credited for the tracks although Nishith Hegde (the guitar prodigy) will be the new guitarist.

On May 25, 2014 the band released a preview video for The Demon King on Youtube.